Tacloban City, February 2, 2018 - The National Nutrition Survey (NNS) is a comprehensive survey conducted every five years by the Department of Science and Technology (DOST)-Food and Nutrition Research Institute (FNRI), since 1978 and the latest was year 2013. In-between the five-year period, the updating survey of Nutritional Status of Children and other Population Groups, is conducted every 2 to 3 years to rapidly assess the nutrition situation of Filipinos.

DepEd Regional Office No. 8 , in partnership with the Department of Health Regional Office 8 launched the Weekly Iron Folic Acid (WIFA) Supplementation last January 29, 2018 held at Sta. Mesa National High School, Dagami, Leyte. This program aims to increase public awareness and appreciate the importance of iron supplementation especially on adolescent girls who are particularly prone to iron deficiency anemia because of the increase demand of iron by the body.

The Regional Health Research and Development Consortium (RHRDCs) is the structure through which the DOST- Philippine Council for Health Research and Development (PCHRD) Institution Development Programs are implemented, and became the mechanism that encourage and promote health research activities in the regions. Like any other RHRDCs, the Eastern Visayas Health Research and Development Consortium (EVHRDC) is the implementing arm of PCHRD in the realization of health related activities in Eastern Visayas.


Dr. Catalino P. Dotollo, Jr., Regional Director of NIDA8 convened its 3rd Dialogue Meeting at DOH RO8 last January 16, 2018. This time regarding Nutritionist/Dietician deployment program under DOH HRH Program for PPAN focused areas with the very supportive DOH RO8 Regional Director Minerva P. Molon together with focal person and Dr. Dotollo's former EPI partner Ms. Ddaisy Gorgonia.

EVHRDC Released a Research Fund to St. Scholastica's College Tacloban Inc. early this afternoon with Sr. Michaela M. Manalang, OSB (SSCT President) together with Mr. Clive Ivan S. Mercado, RMT (Lead Proponent), Kristine Lovele E. Navarrete, RMT, MATMRS (Co-Proponent), EVHRDC RMC Member Dr. Antonio E. Lim, Jr., RMT, PhD, FPASMAP (Co-Proponent) and Mr. Jeffrey P. Hinampas (EVHRDC Staff) at the SSCT President's Office.