Harmonized Initiatives for the Spread of Good Nutrition (HIMSOG), a media group created by the National Nutrition Council (NNC), meets early today, May 18 at the NNC Regional Office VIII to discuss the plans for this year's scheduled media caravan and other health and nutrition - related activities ready for implementation.


Determined to solve the Philippine health problems through health researches and developmental interventions, the Eastern Visayas Health Research and Development Consortium (EVHRDC) has recently conducted an institutional visit to the Eastern Samar State University in Borongan, Eastern Samar (ESSU) on May 16, 2018.

Group of participants from the university and  representatives from different government institutions.


Participated in by officers and staff of the university as well as representatives from different government institutions, the one-day activity has focused on the call to submit research proposals not only from the said academic institution, but also from other groups or individuals who are health enthusiasts.


The health research proposals submitted after having been reviewed and approved, will then be funded by the consortium itself.

Person on the left, ESSU President, Dr. Edmundo Campoto expressing his opening message
and person on the right, Chair of EVHRDC RIC, Mr. Willard Riveral giving his welcome remarks.


In his message, ESSU President, Dr. Edmundo Campoto, expressed his gratitude for the effort done by the members of the EVHRDC Reseaerch Information Committee in considering the university as one of the active members of the consortium.


He also challenged his staff to continue coming up with health studies which could contribute to the advancement of knowledge on medical practices, thereby improving the quality of life of the people in the region.


Aside from the submission of research proposals, the occasion was likewise considered as an opportunity to hold the third quarter meeting of the Research Information Sub-Committee, where plans to sustain the information dissemination activities were discussed, particularly the conduct of the upcoming health research symposium.


The institutional visit was also part of the evaluation of  the research activities in the different institutions of the region aimed at protecting the rights and interests of researches involving human subjects.

Group photo of participants together with the RIC members and EVHRDC staff before the  said activity ends.


The EVHRDC is an organization which serves as a venue for inter-agency efforts geared towards health advancement and stability.


During the Children's Congress on School Resiliency held recently at the Oriental Hotel in Palo, Leyte, school children talk on their vision for the future, and likewise emphasized their basic rights particularly the right to education, health care, safety and other basic needs.


The event was spearheaded by Save the Children Philippines in coordination with the Department of Education, Department of Social Welfare and Development and the Department of Interior and Local Government.


The City Government of Tacloban has started the construction of ten (10)  drainage system projects in the city which are set to be finished this year.


The flood mitigation projects which include declogging activities are expected to solve the perennial flood problem in the city which could bring health hazard to the constituents.


The government interventions are made possible through the leadership of Mayor Christina Gonzales in partnership with the Department of Public Works and Highways.

Person on the right, Dr. Ophelia M. Mendoza, PCHRD Consultant
gives her one-on-one mentoring to
Ms. Pearl Irish V. De Paz, principal investigator of
Naval State University (person in the middle). 

Palo, Leyte - In its bid to sustain the  quality support in terms of time and technical guidance to  health researchers in Region 8, the Eastern Visayas Health Research and Development Consortium (EVHRDC)  conducts a Research Proposal Enhancement Workshop at the DOST Conference Room in Candahug Palo on May 2-4, 2018.


The said workshop is a follow through activity of the Basic Research Methods Training conducted by The Department of Health RO8 and EVHRDC last March 16, 2018. The workshop provides venue for mentoring and coaching on basic research methods to research proponents from its esteemed consultant, Dr. Ophelia Mendoza. 




The participants of the activity were those who participated in the BRMT, whose capsule proposals were reviewed and endorsed by the Technical Review Board (TRB) for development into full blown proposals using the standard format of the Philippine Council for Health Research and Development (PCHRD). A total of nine (9) research proposals mentored were aligned with the Regional Unified Health Research Agenda (RUHRA) 2016-2022.

After the 3-day workshop, the research proposals will be re-evaluated based on the technical merit during the Technical Review Board (TRB) meeting of the EVHRDC and endorse the same to the Ethics Review Committee for the ethical clearance.