TACLOBAN CITY, Leyte, June 27 (PIA) -- Secretary Eduardo Año of the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) has approved to temporarily suspend the return of Locally Stranded Individuals (LSIs) to Region 8 in response to a joint resolution submitted by the Regional Inter-Agency Task Force on the Management of Emerging Infectious Disease (RIATF-MEID) and the Regional Task Force for COVID-19.

The joint resolution stated that the implementation of the temporary suspension of inbound travel by land, sea or air, of LSIs will take effect 12:01 a.m. of June 28 to 12 midnight of July 9 while outbound travel from Region 8 to other parts of the country as well as entry of returning Overseas Filipinos to the region shall be allowed provided that required documents are complete.

During the recent visit of DILG Secretary Año and Chief Implementer of the Inter-Agency Task Force for COVID-19 Secretary Carlito Galvez in Eastern Visayas, local government units in Eastern Visayas have aired their concerns to the national officials as many quarantine facilities are already full.